Recommended Road Gearing for GVBR 2016?

General talk, queries & comments about the Great Victorian Bike Ride.
kernelsanders

Recommended Road Gearing for GVBR 2016?

Postby kernelsanders » Wed 03 May 2017, 10:49 pm

Hi, I'm considering going on the GVBR - my first time, and I'm a bit worried about the hills.

I've been riding for about 18 months now, and I'm not a super string rider. I average about 20-25kph on the flats on my 16km commute to work. Takes me about 40-45 minutes.

While I'm getting better up the hills, I'm still not great and more than a little worried about what the GVBR will throw at me.

I'm currently riding a Giant OCR Zero road bike (about 9.5kg) - endurance geometry, and I've changed the gearing to a 50/34 compact set up, with an 11-28 in the cassette? Is this sufficient? Should I go to a an 11-34? Should I consider changing everything out and going to a triple? Should I invest in a cheap touring bike?

I know a lot of people do it on road bikes, but I couldn't find a lot of information in this forum about recommended gearing set ups.

Would love to get your advice!

Thanks,

Eugene

baudman
Location: Some of us are in the gutter, we are all looking out for cars

Re: Recommended Road Gearing for GVBR 2016?

Postby baudman » Thu 04 May 2017, 8:47 am

A great many people complete the GVBR on many and varying bikes. On the face of it, it seems your bike would be very well suited.

However... you know your abilities in the hills. You could build up to that over the ensuing months. In most GVBR routes, they like to throw in at least one day with a tough hill, or two, as well as one long (over 100km) day. They'll (hopefully) post more detail on each individual day route/profile at some point in the next few months.

If it does come to it, and a hill is too much for you, you won't be the only one walking their bike up the steeper slopes.

JAC

Recommended Road Gearing for GVBR 2017?

Postby JAC » Thu 04 May 2017, 9:54 am